Log in

2022 Western Force Awards Night

In a year marking historic milestones for the club’s Super W team, the Western Force has awarded 18-year-old Tamika Jones the very first Rebecca Clough Medal (Super W best and fairest). While the Nathan Sharpe Medal has been won by Tim Anstee and Manasa Mataele, the first time the men’s best and fairest has been shared between two players.

The 2022 Awards Night saw both the men and women’s team equally recognised, celebrating its most consistent players for the 2022 season.

After a breakout year, which saw Jones receive her first call up to the Wallaroos training squad, the young flanker’s hard work has seen her receive not only the Rebecca Clough Medal but has also been recognised as the Super W Members’ MVP.

Playing in all four of the Forces matches this year, Jones led the Rebecca Clough Medal count 33 points ahead of runner-up Anneka Stephens (64).

For the first time in history, the prestigious Nathan Sharpe Medal has been won by two recipients; Anstee and Mataele, who both finished the season with 105 points, just three points ahead of runner-up Bayley Kuenzle (102).

General manager of rugby Matt Hodgson said the trio’s recognition this season is thoroughly deserved.

“Tamika was a standout throughout the season. For someone so young to possess such confidence and tenacity is incredible. We loved watching her play and so did our members and fans,” Hodgson explained.

“Both Manasa and Tim are greatly deserving of this accolade. Their hard work during key moments throughout the season was pivotal to our overall season, and it is great to see them both recognised.”

The Matt Hodgson and Debby Hodgkinson Rising Star Awards were received by homegrown duo 22-year-old Jackson Pugh and 17-year-old Keira MacAskill respectively. Both players made their Super Rugby and Super W debuts this year with fantastic performances.

“Both Jackson and Keira are young Western Australian players who have worked their way through the state pathway and are now shining at the highest level,” Hodgson said.

“They are some of the most consistent trainers at the club and are promising talents that have only just started their careers. We cannot wait to see them continue to grow and learn.”

Having announced his retirement at the end of this season, World Cup winning All Black Richard Kahui has been voted the Super Rugby Pacific Members’ MVP alongside Super W winner Tamika Jones.

Force chief executive officer Tony Lewis said both Jones and Kahui are worthy winners.

“Both Tamika and Richard are very exciting players to watch and fantastic individuals, which is evident every time they pull on a Force jersey. They are great representatives of the club, and this award is a testament to their character,” Lewis said.

The newly named Nicola Forrest Force Woman Award and the Geoff Stooke Force Man Award has been presented to Anneka Stephens and Tom Robertson. The Force Man and Woman Award recognises a player’s contribution in representing the club values both on and off-field, as voted for by the coaching staff.

Stephens and Robertson are exceptional examples of role models to those around them according to Hodgson.

“Anneka and Tom are always the first to put their hands up regardless of what is asked of them. Their enthusiasm, hard work and genuine willingness to help everyone around them truly embodies the values of the Force. I am very proud for them both to be receiving this award,” Hodgson said.

The Adrian Blacker Award is presented to an off-field staff member or volunteer to recognise their efforts throughout the season. This year’s award recipient is RugbyWA Development Officer Alasdair Henderson.

“Alasdair has been an exceptional help to us from assisting on match days to being one of the most admired opposition team liaison officers. He assisted visiting teams with everything from finding and transporting lost luggage to finding suitable solutions to delayed flights at midnight,” Lewis said.

“His positive attitude and complaint-free work ethic is refreshing and encouraging. We couldn’t find a better recipient for this award. On behalf of the entire Western Force, we would like to thank and congratulate Ali.”

2022 Award Winners Nathan Sharpe Medal: Tim Anstee and Manasa Mataele Rebecca Clough Medal: Tamika Jones

Matt Hodgson Rising Star: Jackson Pugh Debby Hodgkinson Rising Star: Keira MacAskill

Super Rugby Pacific Members’ MVP: Richard Kahui

Super W Members’ MVP: Tamika Jones

Geoffrey Stooke Force Man Award: Tom Robertson Nicola Forrest Force Woman Award: Anneka Stephens

Adrian Blacker Award: Alasdair Henderson

Nathan Sharpe Medal – Honour Roll

2021 – Kane Koteka 2020 – Fergus Lee-Warner 2019 – Issak Fines-Leleiwasa 2018 – Brynard Stander 2017 – Isi Naisarani 2016 – Dane Haylett-Petty 2015 – Ben McCalman 2014 – Matt Hodgson 2013 – Kyle Godwin 2012 – David Pocock 2011 – David Smith 2010 – Matt Hodgson 2009 – Matt Hodgson 2008 – Ryan Cross 2007 – Matt Giteau 2006 – Scott Staniforth