Five Force players selected in Wallabies squad for Wales & Georgia Tests

Fri, Jun 21, 2024, 1:05 AM
by Western Force Media
Western Force scrum-half Nic White spoke following his selection, alongside four other Force players, in the Wallabies squad.

Five Western Force players have been rewarded for strong 2024 Super Rugby Pacific campaigns with selection in the Wallabies’ squad for the upcoming Tests against Wales and Georgia.

Kurtley Beale, Ben Donaldson, Hamish Stewart, Nic White and Jeremy Williams have all been selected into the 38-member squad which will assemble for a camp in Brisbane.

Force captain Williams, 23, and inside-centre Stewart have earned their maiden Wallabies call-ups. Stewart has previously represented the Junior Wallabies and Australia A.

Beale’s recall, having last played for Australia in late 2021, comes after returning to Super Rugby ranks mid-season with the Force, impressing across the back-end of the season. Beale is five caps away from becoming the first Indigenous player to reach 100 caps for Australia.

White, who has 63 international caps, and Donaldson, who has seven caps, were both part of Australia’s 2023 Rugby World Cup squad and have retained their places.

The squad will assemble in Brisbane on Sunday for a four-day camp as they begin preparations for their first Test of 2024 against Wales in Sydney on July 6.  

Wallabies head coach Joe Schmidt said: “There were some very tight selection calls, as there always are when selecting a National Team.

"The coaching group has looked hard at on-field performances and had ongoing discussions with Super Rugby coaches.

"We’ve combined the observations we’ve made, with some candid discussion and feel that we have some very good players to start working with, while also acknowledging that there are some good players who have missed selection.

“We have a short runway into our first Test, so we’re just keen to get to work and make as much progress as we can over the four days we have in Brisbane.”

Wallabies 2024 Home Tests

July Tests

Wallabies v Wales, 5:45pm AWST, Saturday July 6 at Allianz Stadium, Sydney

Wallabies v Wales, 5:45pm AWST, Saturday July 13 at AAMI Park, Melbourne

Wallabies v Georgia, 1:45pm AWST, Saturday July 20 at Allianz Stadium, Sydney

The Rugby Championship/Bledisloe Cup

Wallabies v South Africa, 12:30pm AWST, Saturday August 10 at Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane

Wallabies v South Africa, 5:45pm AWST, Saturday August 17 at Optus Stadium, Perth

Wallabies v New Zealand, 1:45pm AWST, Saturday September 21 at Accor Stadium, Sydney

Tickets to the Wallabies 2024 Home Tests are available to purchase here.

Get tickets to the Rugby Championship Long Lunch to be held on Friday 16 August prior to the Wallabies-Springboks Test in Perth, with Wallabies coach Joe Schmidt and RA CEO Phil Waugh among the guest speakers. More info & tickets here.

Wallabies squad

Forwards (21)

Allan Alaalatoa (#896, West Harbour Juniors)

Angus Blyth (uncapped, Casuarina Beach Rugby Club)

Charlie Cale (uncapped, Beecroft Junior Rugby Club)

Matt Faessler (#969, USQ Saints)

Nick Frost (#953, Hornsby Lions)

Langi Gleeson (#960, Harbord Harlequins)

Alex Hodgman (uncapped, Sunnybank Dragons)

Tom Hooper (#964, Bathurst Bulldogs)

Isaac Kailea (uncapped, Harlequin Junior Rugby Club)

Fraser McReight (#937, Albany Creek Brumbies)

Josh Nasser (uncapped, Easts Rugby (Brisbane))

Zane Nonggorr (#966, Gold Coast Eagles)

Billy Pollard (#958, Lindfield Junior Rugby Club)

Lukhan Salakaia-Loto (#914, Randwick)

Ryan Smith (uncapped, Caboolture Snakes)

James Slipper (#843, Bond Pirates)

Taniela Tupou (#917, Brothers Rugby (Brisbane))

Rob Valetini (#929, Harlequin Junior Rugby Club)

Jeremy Williams (uncapped, Wahroonga Tigers)

Harry Wilson (#933, Gunnedah Red Devils)

Liam Wright (#928, Easts Rugby (Brisbane))

Backs (17)

Kurtley Beale (#836, Northern Suburbs (Sydney))

Filipo Daugunu (#931, Wests Rugby Club (Brisbane))

Ben Donaldson (#962, Clovelly Eagles)

David Feliuai (uncapped, Sunnybank Dragons)

Josh Flook (uncapped, Brothers Rugby (Brisbane))

Jake Gordon (#925, Canterbury Juniors)

Len Ikitau (#944, Tuggeranong Vikings)

Andrew Kellaway (#943, Hunters Hill Rugby Club)

Darby Lancaster (uncapped, Kempsey Cannonballs)

Noah Lolesio (#934, Tuggeranong Vikings)

Tom Lynagh (uncapped, University of Queensland)

Tate McDermott (#936, Flinders Rugby Club)

Hunter Paisami (#932, Harlequin Junior Rugby Club)

Dylan Pietsch (uncapped, Leeton Phantoms)

Hamish Stewart (uncapped, Toowoomba Bears)

Nic White (#875, Maitland Blacks)

Tom Wright (#939, Clovelly Eagles)