Force U16 & U19 teams named for final round games against Waratahs

The Western Force team lists have been named for Round 5 of the Super Rugby Men’s U16 and U19 Championships against the NSW Waratahs at Forshaw Rugby Park in Sydney on Sunday.

Both sides aren’t officially out of mathematical contention to qualify for Saturday’s week finals, but they would need significant wins and other results to go their way.

The Force and Waratahs U16s meet from 8:40am WST, followed by the Force and Waratahs U19s from 10:20am WST. Both games will be streamed live on Stan Sport.

There are four changes for the U16s that drew 18-18 last Saturday against the ACT Brumbies, with Gideon Weleilakeba, Dozion Laupama, Ashford Taumoepeau and Conan Thiedeman coming into the team.

From last week’s starting XV, Felix Cooper and Peni Naqau are both unavailable, with Southern Lions talent Weleilakeba coming in at blindside flanker and Nedlands’ Cassius Dougal shuffled to openside flanker.

Last week’s Force Player of the Match Ezekiel Jackson has moved from fly-half to inside centre, with Josiah Tanonef coming into the starting side at fly-half. Taj Makene has also come into the XV at left wing for Kalani Chong Sue.

Laupama, Taumoepeau and Thiedeman are added as finishers, with Kristian Bellekom and Alexander Smit making way.

There are four changes for the U19s from Saturday’s 54-18 defeat to the Brumbies with Vaughan Robson and Zac Landsman added along with Brennen Leef and Kian Saus for the first time this season for Tiam Toufan (injury), Aiden Voute, Ben Farrow and Brodie Mainwaring who have made way.

There are changes to the starting XV with Joondalup Brothers prop Reece Pedley and Nedlands centre Stirling McDonald elevated and Caleb Karangaroa coming in at lock shuffling Manaia TeTana to blindside flanker.

Ben Kershaw and leading try scorer Dylan Bronlund have subsequently been moved to the finishers.

The Force have been working together with Rugby WA throughout the Super Rugby U16 and U19 Men's Championship. We thank Rugby WA for their support.

Force U16s

Ceejay Patelesiosio, Luke Megson, Hunter Pascoe (vc), Paddy Woods, Josh Harmer, Gideon Weleilakeba, Cassius Dougal, Samiuela Likio, Tamarangi Tunui (c), Josiah Tanonef, Taj Makene, Ezekiel Jackson, Chase Bunce, Dermott Arthy, Harry Oddy; Xander Goh, Dozion Laupama, Zane Wesley, Ashford Taumoepeau, Israel Tupou, Cruz Remi, Conan Thiedeman, Kalani Chong Sue

Force U19s

Reece Pedley, Kelton New, AJ Preketes, Caleb Karangaroa, Josiah Marks, Manaia TeTana, Luke Holt-Brown, Dane Sawers (vc), Doug Philipson (c), Finn Prass, Stirling McDonald, Ollie Cummins, Oakley Pearce, Kauri Tipene-Grace, Thomas Crofts; Brennen Leef, Ben Kershaw, Rueben Baker, Dylan Bronlund, Kian Saus, Jehmial Ross, Zac Landsman, Vaughan Robson

Round 5

Sunday October 29, Forshaw Rugby Park, Sydney

Western Force U16s v NSW Waratahs U16s, 8:40am WST

Western Force U19s v NSW Waratahs U19s, 10:20am WST

Both games are live on Stan Sport.

Follow @WesternForce for updates.

Force Super W agree partnership with Japanese club Tokyo Sankyu Phoenix
New Wallabies recruit White driven by what the Force are building
Force 2024 trial games revealed with free Fan Day at February 10 home game
Force bolster backroom staff with Surridge appointment