Four Force players named in Wallaroos squad for Fiji & NZ Tests

Sun, Jun 30, 2024, 3:30 AM
by Western Force Media

Tamika Jones and Alapeta Ngauamo are in line for their Wallaroos debuts after being named among four Western Force players in the 30-player squad for upcoming Tests next month.

The Wallaroos will take on Fijiana in Sydney next Saturday from 2:45pm WST, followed by New Zealand in Brisbane on Sunday 14 June from 12pm WST.

Back-rower Jones and prop Ngauamo are joined by Wallaroos regulars Trilleen Pomare and Michaela Leonard as the Force quartet within the squad.

Leonard will captain the side. Force half-back Samantha Wood is unavailable due to injury.

Joondalup and Wanneroo product Jones, 21, was earlier this year part of the Wallaroos' development squad prior to Tests against Canada, USA and New Zealand.

Jones’ call-up comes following an excellent 2024 Super W campaign where she started every game for the Force, having had an injury-ruined 2023 following a broken leg.

Ngauamo was called into this Wallaroos’ training squad for last week’s camp in Canberra, with that wider group shaved down from 38 players to 30 for the upcoming games.

The 24-year-old front-rower’s inclusion comes after a strong debut season in the west, making six appearances including five starts with one try.

The extended squad of 38 competed in an intrasquad match in Canberra on Saturday as part of the selection process with the side to return to Sydney on Sunday.

Wallaroos ead coach Jo Yapp said: "We’ve had a really good few days at the AIS in Canberra preparing for the next two Test matches.

"The players have taken a noticeable step up over the last few weeks and our intrasquad match on Saturday was a great opportunity to prepare and play at Test match level.

"The camp and game has given opportunities for new faces to join the squad and it’s important for us to keep building together with the World Cup just over 12 months away."

Both games will be live streamed on Stan Sport. Tickets available via Ticketek.

Upcoming Tests

Wallaroos v Fiji, Saturday 6 July 2:45pm AWST, Allianz Stadium, Sydney

Wallaroos v New Zealand, Sunday 14 July 12pm AWST, Ballymore Stadium, Brisbane

2024 Wallaroos squad – July Tests

Lori Cramer (Queensland Reds) – 21 caps

Biola Dawa* (ACT Brumbies) – uncapped

Piper Duck (NSW Waratahs) – 13 caps

Georgina Friedrichs (NSW Waratahs) – 22 caps

Caitlyn Halse (NSW Waratahs) – 2 caps

Brianna Hoy (NSW Waratahs) – 6 caps

Tamika Jones* (Western Force) – uncapped

Eva Karpani (NSW Waratahs) – 24 caps

Lydia Kavoa* (ACT Brumbies) – uncapped

Atasi Lafai (NSW Waratahs) – 12 caps

Kaitlan Leaney (NSW Waratahs) – 18 caps

Michaela Leonard (c) (Western Force) – 25 caps¬¬

Ashley Marsters (Melbourne Rebels) – 28 caps

Arabella McKenzie (NSW Waratahs) – 24 caps

Desiree Miller (NSW Waratahs) – 5 caps

Faitala Moleka (ACT Brumbies) – 9 caps

Tiarna Molloy (Queensland Reds) – 1 cap

Layne Morgan (NSW Waratahs) – 22 caps

Tania Naden (ACT Brumbies) – 13 caps

Leilani Nathan (NSW Waratahs) – 5 caps

Alapeta Ngauamo* (Western Force) – uncapped

Bridie O'Gorman (NSW Waratahs) – 20 caps

Siokapesi Palu (ACT Brumbies) – 9 caps

Trilleen Pomare (Western Force) – 27 caps

Madison Schuck (Queensland Reds) – 7 caps

Allana Sikimeti* (ACT Brumbies) – uncapped

Cecilia Smith (Queensland Reds) – 13 caps

Maya Stewart (NSW Waratahs) – 11 caps

Tabua Tuinakauvadra (ACT Brumbies) – 6 caps

Natalie Wright* (Queensland Reds) - uncapped

*denotes potential debutant