Rodda Returns for Captain Wells 100th match

Wed, May 24, 2023, 1:55 AM
by Western Force Media

This Friday, Michael Wells runs on for his 100th Super Rugby cap against his former side, the Melbourne Rebels.

Wells made his Super Rugby debut in 2016 with the ACT Brumbies and, over the past eight seasons has captained both the Rebels and Force. Known for his honest leadership and hard mentality, the versatile back-rower is a prominent defensive figure across the Australian Rugby landscape. The Force is honoured to have him lead the team out in his 100th match. 

After the sixth straight win at home, the Force fly to Melbourne for their final away fixture of the regular season. Simon Cron has made four changes to his match-day 23, including the long-awaited inclusion of lock, Izack Rodda at #19. 

The 34-capped Wallaby re-joins the team after injuring his foot in the pre-season match against Fijian Drua. Standing at 202cm, Rodda's physicality will be welcomed against an impressive Rebels forward pack. He will come on in the second-row, where, ever consistent Jeremy Williams (#4) and dominant ball runner Felix Kalapu (#5) start the match. 

The front-row makeup is 21-year-old Siosifa Amone, who starts at tighthead prop, alongside Angus Wagner (#1) and Folau Fainga'a at hooker. 

Fly-half Max Burey continues his combination with scrum-half Issak Fines-Leleiwasa and centre Hamish Stewart (#12). Looking to continue his accuracy, Burey has made 453 kick metres per 80minutes in the 2023 Super Rugby Pacific season, the second most of any player in the competition (Damian McKenzie – 463 for Chiefs).   

Catch all the action live on Stan Sport. Rebels vs Force 5:35pm AWST AAMI Park Melbourne

Rebels vs Force RD14

Western Force 

  1.   Angus Wagner  
  2.   Folau Fainga'a  
  3.   Siosifa Amone  
  4.   Jeremy Williams  
  5.   Felix Kalapu  
  6.   Michael Wells (C)  
  7.   Carlo Tizzano  
  8.   Rahboni Vosayaco  
  9.   Issak Fines-Leleiwasa  
  10.   Max Burey  
  11.   Manasa Mataele  
  12.   Hamish Stewart  
  13.   Sam Spink  
  14.   Zach Kibirige  
  15.   Chase Tiatia  
  16.   Tom Horton  
  17.   Marley Pearce  
  18.   Bo Abra  
  19.   Izack Rodda  
  20.   Tim Anstee  
  21.   Isi Naisarani  
  22.   Ian Prior  
  23.   George Poolman