Force make five changes to starting XV for Waratahs clash

Wed, Apr 3, 2024, 2:57 AM
by Ben Somerford

The Western Force have made five changes to their starting XV for Saturday’s free entry Buildcorp Super Rugby Women’s clash with the NSW Waratahs from 3:05pm WST at UWA Sports Park.

Force head coach Dylan Parsons and his team have backed squad depth to freshen up the line-up where victory will lock in a maiden Super W semi-finals berth for the club.

Japan international Hinata Komaki and Black Ferns squad member Harono Te Iringa both come into the front row, replacing Alapeta Ngauamo and Natsuki Kashiwagi who move to the Impact Squad.

Experienced Kalamunda lock Libya Teepa and former Super W Player of the Year Lucy Dinnen are added to the second row and back row respectively, replacing Rosie Ebbage and Brooklyn Teki-Joyce from last week’s starting side. Teki-Joyce is among the Impact Squad.

Former Queensland Reds fly-half Renae Nona gets her maiden starting opportunity at 10, stepping in for Nicole Ledington who’ll move to the Impact Squad. Cottesloe scrum-half Kendra Fell also comes into the 23 among the finishers.

Trilleen Pomare will captain the side once again, supported by Wallaroos lock Michaela Leonard as vice-captain.

The Force can secure a maiden Super W semi-finals spot with victory over the ladder-leading Waratahs. The WA club have never beaten the Tahs in Super W history but have a theme to “be the first” in 2024, having already knocked off the Reds for the first time a fortnight ago.

Saturday’s game will be preceded by games contested by the RugbyWA Regional Girls Under-16 and Under-18 teams from 12:15pm and 1:15pm respectively. Entry is free for all games during the community-themed afternoon.

The Super W game will be live on Stan Sport, while there will be regular updates @WesternForce on social media.

Game details

Western Force v NSW Waratahs

UWA Sports Park, Mt Claremont, 3:05pm WST

Live on Stan Sport

Force team list

Starting XV: Hinata Komaki, Sara Cline, Harono Te Iringa, Libya Teepa, Michaela Leonard (vc), Lucy Dinnen, Anneka Stephens, Tamika Jones, Samantha Wood, Renae Nona, Saelua Leaula, Trilleen Pomare (c), Sheree Hume, Haylee Hifo, Aiysha Wigley

Reserves: Hera-Barb Malcolm Heke, Alapeta Ngauamo, Natsuki Kashiwagi, Alanis Toia, Brooklyn Teki-Joyce, Kendra Fell, Nicole Ledington, Siutiti Ma'ake

Pomare unfazed by long journey as Force head for semi-final in Fiji
Beale set for Force debut as trio return to face Crusaders
Pomare returns in major boost for Force's Super W semi-final tilt
Eggleston previews Crusaders clash - 'We'll need to be at our best'