White & Rodda to start, Hoopert to make long-awaited Force debut

Wed, May 8, 2024, 3:57 AM
by Ben Somerford
The Stan Sport crew analysed the team news ahead of Saturday night's Western Force v Fijian Drua game in Perth, on The Call-up.

The Western Force will welcome back Wallabies Nic White and Izack Rodda into the starting XV to face the Fijian Drua on Saturday, while Harry Hoopert is set to play at Super Rugby Pacific level for the first time since 2022.

Scrum-half White and lock Rodda both come into the starting side along with winger George Poolman and Joondalup Brothers front-rower Marley Pearce for Saturday’s Culture Round game which starts at 7:55pm WST at HBF Park.

Hoopert is named among the finishers to make his Force Club debut and his first Super Rugby Pacific appearance since 2022. Saturday's game will mark 708 days between Super Rugby games for Hoopert, dating back to 3 June 2022.

The 25-year-old prop missed the entire 2023 season with an ACL injury sustained on Australia A duty followed by a knee injury suffered in 2024 pre-season.

Lock Lopeti Faifua is added to the Force reserves, with Tom Franklin (concussion) unavailable. Scrum-half Issak Fines-Leleiwasa is also unavailable due to an ankle complaint.

Kick-off on Saturday is 7:55pm WST, with the game streamed live on Stan Sport. There will be regular updates on @WesternForce social media channels.

Head to our Game Day Hub to see what's happening at the ground to celebrate Culture Round.

Game details

Western Force v Fijian Drua

HBF Park, Perth

Saturday 11 May, 7:55pm WST

Live on Stan Sport

Force team list

Starting XV: Marley Pearce, Tom Horton, Santiago Medrano, Jeremy Williams (c), Izack Rodda, Will Harris, Carlo Tizzano, Reed Prinsep, Nic White, Ben Donaldson, Chase Tiatia, Hamish Stewart, Bayley Kuenzle, George Poolman, Kurtley Beale

Reserves: Feleti Kaitu’u, Harry Hoopert, Tiaan Tauakipulu, Lopeti Faifua, Michael Wells, Henry Robertson, Sam Spink, Henry O’Donnell

Western Force teams up with BodyRight Massage
Force trio named in Australia's World Rugby U20 Championship squad
Force farewell quintet following conclusion of 2024 SRP season
Force form partnership with Hytro & UWA to optimise travel recovery