Force quintet called into Wallaroos squad including uncapped trio

Mon, Apr 29, 2024, 10:15 PM
by Ben Somerford
Western Force head coach Dylan Parsons discussed the Wallaroos call-ups of Force women's quintet Trilleen Pomare, Michaela Leonard, Samantha Wood, Hera-Barb Malcolm Heke and Tamika Jones.

Western Force quintet Michaela Leonard, Hera-Barb Malcolm Heke, Trilleen Pomare, Samantha Wood and Tamika Jones have been called up for the Wallaroos’ squad for the upcoming Pacific Four series.

Force lock Leonard will once again deputise as Australia captain, while Kalamunda inside centre and Force skipper Pomare earns the opportunity to add to her 23 international caps.

Uncapped Kalamunda pair Malcolm Heke and Wood have received their maiden Wallaroos call-ups following excellent campaigns in the 2024 Buildcorp Super Rugby Women’s.

Joondalup product Tamika Jones has been selected in the development squad, who’ll join the camp ahead of the opening game of the series. The Wallaroos will play Canada (May 11, Sydney), USA (May 17, Melbourne) and New Zealand (May 25, Auckland) in the series.

Force head coach Dylan Parsons said: “It’s awesome to see two of our leaders, Michaela and Trilleen be recognised again. The Wallaroos have really selected through performances, so it’s great recognition for those two.

“To have local girls Sammy, Hera-Barb and Tamika recognised, it shows they’ve worked really hard and they’ve performed really well throughout the season. It shows there’s a pathway to Wallaroos here too.”

ARKS product and 19-year-old scrum-half Wood’s call-up comes following a breakout campaign having debuted in Round 5 last year. Wood started every game in 2024, assisting several tries and primarily taking kicking duties with 10 penalties and five conversions.

On Wood, Parsons said: “She’s someone that works really hard at her craft. She’s very dedicated to her goals and Wallaroos is definitely one of her goals.

“She’s an ARKS junior who moved to Kalamunda to play her senior rugby. For her to get experience at Waikato in the Farah Palmer Cup last year set her up to give her confidence that she can play at this level. When she came back to us, she hit the ground running and had a great season. The reward is going into a Wallaroos squad.”

Kalamunda hooker Malcolm Heke, 24, took her game to another level in 2024, with her driving runs forward and tough tackling in defence. The front-rower played all six games and scored three tries.

On Malcolm Heke, Parsons said: “We see huge potential going forward with her. That’s why she’s on an extended contract as well. We’re really excited about continuing to work with her after the Super W season.

“She’s got something that a lot of players don’t have, when she hits, she hits. To have someone like that, with a point of difference to go into an international set-up, she’s built for that type of physicality. We’re really excited to see how she progresses with that opportunity.”

Back-rower Jones, 20, had previously been involved with Wallaroos camps before an injury-cursed 2023, with 2024 marking a return to fitness and form in the number 8 role where she started every Force game.

Jones, who won the Force’s Rebecca Clough medal and Super W Members’ MVP awards in 2022, needed surgery in 2023 after breaking her tibia and fibula, only to discover a complication with the screw nailed into a tendon seven months later, setting her back further.

On Jones, Parsons said: “She’s worked really hard to come back form that injury. For her to come back in Round 1 and play 80 minutes every game and in a new position as well is fantastic. Number 8 is a position she’s played a little bit of but not consistently.

“To add that to her repertoire as a rugby player at only 20, shows how rounded she is and how much potential she has. The Wallaroos are pretty excited about her versatility and we’re happy that she’s getting recognised but we know there’s more to come from her.”

Tickets for the Pacific Four series are available at Ticketek while fans catch the action live ad-free and on demand on Stan Sport.


Allana Sikimeti* (ACT Brumbies) – uncapped

Asoiva (Eva) Karpani (NSW Waratahs) – 21 caps

Brianna Hoy (NSW Waratahs) – 3 caps

Bridie O'Gorman (NSW Waratahs) – 17 caps

Sally Fuesaina* (ACT Brumbies) - uncapped

Hera-Barb Malcolm Heke* (Western Force) – uncapped

Tania Naden (ACT Brumbies) – 10 caps

Kaitlan Leaney (NSW Waratahs) – 15 caps

Michaela Leonard (c) (Western Force) – 22 caps

Tiarah Minns* (Melbourne Rebels) – uncapped

Ashley Marsters (Melbourne Rebels) – 26 caps

Atasi Lafai (NSW Waratahs) – 9 caps

Leilani Nathan (NSW Waratahs) – 2 caps

Lydia Kavoa* (ACT Brumbies) – uncapped

Siokapesi Palu (ACT Brumbies) – 6 caps

Piper Duck (NSW Waratahs) – 10 caps

Tabua Tuinakauvadra (ACT Brumbies) – 4 caps

Layne Morgan (NSW Waratahs) – 19 caps

Samantha Wood* (Western Force) – uncapped

Arabella McKenzie (NSW Waratahs) – 21 caps

Faitala Moleka (ACT Brumbies) – 6 caps

Cecilia Smith (Queensland Reds) – 12 caps

Georgina Friedrichs (NSW Waratahs) – 19 caps

Shalom Sauaso* (Queensland Reds) – uncapped

Trilleen Pomare (Western Force) – 24 caps

Biola Dawa* (ACT Brumbies) – uncapped

Desiree Miller (NSW Waratahs) – 2 caps

Maya Stewart (NSW Waratahs) – 8 caps

Caitlyn Halse* (NSW Waratahs) – uncapped

Lori Cramer (Queensland Reds) – 19 caps

*denotes potential debutant


Ashley Fernandez (ACT Brumbies)

Ashlea Bishop (ACT Brumbies)

Brittany Merlo (NSW Waratahs)

Janita Kareta (Queensland Reds)

Melanie Wilks (Queensland Reds)

Natalie Wright (Queensland Reds)

Skye Churchill (NSW Waratahs)

Tamika Jones (Western Force)

Tiarna Molloy (Queensland Reds)

Waiaria Ellis (NSW Waratahs)


Wallaroos v Canada – Saturday May 11, Allianz Stadium, Sydney 2:45pm (WST)

Wallaroos v USA – Friday, May 17, AAMI Park, Melbourne 2:45pm (WST)

Wallaroos v New Zealand – Saturday, May 25, North Harbour Stadium, Auckland 2:05pm (WST)